The Advisory Committee on Socially Responsible Investing (ACSRI) would like to thank the members of the Columbia community for attending the *Community Engagement Panel on Private Prison Divestment* on Thursday, January 20, 2015 at 6pm at the Law School. Columbia Prison Divest (CPD) was co-sponsor of the event. The panelists were *Brett Dignam*, Clinical Professor of Law, Columbia Law School; *Judith Greene*, Director, Justice Strategies; and *Christopher Petrella*, PhD candidate in African American Studies, UC Berkeley. <u>Anika Rahman</u>, CLS '90, a member of ACSRI, served as moderator; <u>Asha Rosa</u>, 'CC 16, a member of CPD, also spoke.

The ACSRI found the forum helpful in receiving more feedback about community sentiment and the merits of the issue. The Prison Divestment subcommittee of the ACSRI is working on next steps. Once that process is complete and pending receipt of a formal proposal from Columbia Prison Divest, the ACSRI as a whole will review the Columbia Prison Divest proposal and make a recommendation to the Trustees.

There are two key advisory roles which the ACSRI performs, in accordance with its charter: [here]

To recommend a vote on shareholder proxies for directly held publicly traded equities and to consider options for shareholder engagement or divestment when issues in the realm of social responsibility prompt questions or concerns from members of the Columbia community with regard to the University's holdings. There are three basic tests or criteria that must be met before divestment can be recommended. These include:

- 1) There must be broad consensus within the University community regarding the issue at hand;
- 2) The merits of the dispute must lie clearly on one side;
- 3) Divestment must be more viable and appropriate than ongoing communication and engagement with company management.

To ensure that the Committee is broadly representative of the University community, its twelve voting members are drawn in equal proportion from students, faculty, and alumni of the University. The process for the appointment of its members provides for balanced representation of the University's divisions and schools. Currently, the membership is comprised of representatives from Columbia College, School of the Arts, School of Business, School of International and Public Affairs, School of Law, School of Nursing, and the Finance Division. Two University officers sit as non-voting members in addition to the twelve voting members.